Palliative Care Queensland

Palliative Care Australia announces inaugural national awards

Inaugural national awards aimed at recognising innovation, teamwork and emerging talent in the palliative care sector were announced today by Palliative Care Australia (PCA) CEO Liz Callaghan.

Ms Callaghan said that the new awards will recognise the efforts of those who support and care for people who are dying and acknowledge organisations and individuals who provide support and care to those people.

“Palliative care makes a good death possible for a number of Australians. It is a sector filled with people who offer genuine, essential and holistic care to the most vulnerable among us.

“These awards are just one way we can acknowledge the amazing work being done around Australia and promote the work of palliative care so more Australians are aware of it, and how to ask for it.

“Many people think palliative care is just for those suffering from cancer. In fact, chronic disease sufferers can also access care and there is a growing need in the community for this to occur. Early intervention palliative care has also been shown to extend life for patients with some cancers.

“I am so pleased Palliative Care Australia will recognise the fantastic work undertaken every day by health care professionals, community carers and researchers. Palliative care is a challenging environment, but richly rewarding for those involved. We are looking forward to seeing the entries,” she said.

Winners in the individual category win $2000 towards professional development and free registration to the 2017 Australian Palliative Care Conference. In the two organisational categories $4000 will be awarded.

Emerging Leader
Emerging Researcher
Outstanding Teamwork
Innovation in Palliative Care

The awards will be presented at the Australian Palliative Care Conference Gala Dinner on Thursday 3 September 2015 at the Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Skip to content