In this section


Palliative Care Queensland is governed by a board of State Council members, a volunteer board comprising nine State Councilors, all of whom are members of Palliative Care Queensland and who have been elected by the membership to manage the organization.

Within the State Council sits the Executive Committee (Management Committee), comprising the President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer.

The Executive Officer (EO) is appointed by State Council to manage the day to day operations of the organisation and to ensure that the organisation's strategic and operational objectives are realised. The EO reports directly to the Executive Committee.

Palliative Care Queensland also maintains two working sub-committees, including the Events and Marketing Committee and the Education Committee.


His Excellency the Honourable Paul de Jersey AC, Governor of Queensland

State Council Members

Executive Committee

Mr John Haberecht

Dr William Syrmis

Mr Kain Elsmore

Ms Carol Hope

General Members

Ms Sue Manton

Mr Jonathan Walsh

Dr Matthew Cooper

Mr Gary Power

Ms Angela Scotney

Other Committees

Education Committee

Dr Will Syrmis (Chair)

Chief Executive Officer

Shyla Mills